Santorini Island in the Cyclades: Villages
With 500 residents Oia is a smaller and quieter version of Fira although its residents will be quick to point out the major differences less readily apparent to the untrained eye. It's also a port, which today mostly caters to the expensive private yachts and caique's which dock below. Half destroyed by the earthquake of 1956, and once having 9,000 residents, it has won major awards for its reconstruction and restoration efforts and is a charming place built on top of itself on the cliff face. A half ruined Venetian Fort and working windmills add to the already majestic aura of Oia. There are 3 beaches near by. Oia costs more because its exclusive and vice versa!
MARITIME MUSEUM (OIA) Santorini's maritime history museum displays marine objects of the 19th century. Open daily (closed Tuesdays) from 10-2 and 5-8 pm. Fee €3 Tel.: 71156.
CLICK MAP TO SEE LARGER
Traditionally Catholic Imerovigli has almost merged into expanding Firostefani and its views of the caldera are just as majestic but slightly altered. Below is the old site of Skaros, Santorini's medieval capital, destroyed in 1650 by eruption. A path leads to the site below now occupied by, what else... a chapel.
A large, picturesque, central village with small streets and windmill topped hills. Emporio has vestiges of a fortified castle and a strong, square building called the Goulas where village people hid from pirates.The small site of ancient Elefsina is nearby.
Two kilometers east of Fira, with interesting architecture and churches worth visiting, is Karterados. Central Analipsis Church resembles the Cathedral of Fira. Eisodia tis Theotokou and Aghios Nikolaos are typical. Karterados has a quiet black-sand beach that is closest to Fira.
A peaceful and traditional Santorini village with vaulted houses and stone-cobbled streets located nine km from Fira. Megalohori grows the most grapes used for wine on Santorini.
A typical Santorinian village about 7 km from Fira, near the airport. The village takes its name from the rock named Monolithos on top of which the St. George church sits.